NAPSEC Educator of the Year

Mrs. Sullivan accepts her award.

NAPSEC is a national organization of over 200 agencies that provide special educational services to infants, students and adults. On Wednesday, January 22, the culminating event of NAPSEC’s 2020 Leadership Conference took place during the annual awards luncheon. NAPSEC recognized excellence in special education by presenting awards for Educator of the Year, Related Services Provider of the Year, Director Care Worker of the Year, NCASES Site Reviewer of the Year and Innovative Program of the Year. Archbishop Damian o School's Mrs. Kathryn Sullivan was honored as NAPSEC’s 2020 Educator of the Year. The award was based on Kate’s demonstrable excellence in the classroom, service in the community and advocacy for the rights of students with special need. With Kate’s win, five ADS teachers staff been recognized as NAPSEC Educators of the Year. ADS staff have also been recognized as Related Services Provider of the Year and for Innovative Program of the Year awards. Four of these seven awards were earned in just the last five years!

Pictured below is Mrs. Sullivan accepting her award from NAPSEC’s Board President Mr. Chris Tabakin. Kate’s very gracious ad heart-warming acceptance speech where she highlighted the heroes in her life, her students. Finally, the mandatory awards ceremony group shot: Mr. Chris Tabakin, Br. Tom Osorio Executive Director of St. John of God Community Services, Mrs. Kathryn Sullivan, Mrs. Danielle Johnson Executive Director of NAPSEC and NCASES and Dr. Gregory Zink ADS Assistant Principal and NCASES Commissioner

Mrs Sullivan receives her award.
Mrs. Sullivan acknowledges her heroes.
Award cermony group photograph